Leading Museums, Museum Leaders

AMaGA National Awards 2023

Burra Learning Place at the Australian Museum is a winner in the Interpretation, learning & audience engagement category. Source: Australian Museum.

Media Release, AMaGA National Awards 2023 announced, Australian Museums and Galleries Association, 16 May 2023

For immediate release

The Australian Museums and Galleries Association (AMaGA) National Awards for 2023 winners and highly commended entries were announced at the AMaGA National Awards Ceremony, on Tuesday 16 May 2023, Murrook Cultural Centre, Newcastle as part of the AMaGA 2023 National Conference. The Awards comprise of the Museums Australasia Multimedia & Publication Design Awards (MAPDAs) and Museums & Galleries National Awards (MAGNAs).

The Museums Australasia Multimedia & Publication Design Awards began in 1994 and are all about design and communication. The Museums & Galleries National Awards, or MAGNAs, commenced in 2011. MAGNA awards recognise excellent museum and gallery sector work nationally in the categories of exhibition, public programs and sustainability projects.

In late 2021 community members from a diverse range of sector perspectives gathered to review the AMaGA awards program with the aim of uniting the two existing award streams to better represent the museums and galleries sector. The initial awards working group made several recommendations that will be implemented over a period of two annual cycles. In 2023, the awards amalgamated under one title: The AMaGAs. However, individual award categories remained the same.

The AMaGA National Awards aim to encourage the continuous improvement and development of Australian museums and galleries and inspire and recognise social impact and innovation in the collecting sector. “The AMaGAs are our annual celebration of the museum and gallery sector and showcase the wonderful work that museums and galleries do in their communities and provide visibility for projects of national significance”, said Katie Russell, National Director, AMaGA.

The MAPDA Best in Show award for publications went to: Richard Bell Reader: documenta fifteen, Stuart Geddes and Ziga Testen, Griffith University Art Museum. The National Winner of the 2023 MAGNA was Maitland Regional Art Gallery for overall excellence demonstrated through museum display, design and interpretation.

For the first time, the AMaGA National Council have also awarded the AMaGA National Council’s PATRONS AWARD, to two longstanding and highly committed members of the museum and gallery profession, Carol Cartwright and Louise Douglas, for their ongoing dedication and
consistent support for conference inclusion via the Cartwright Douglas Fund.

For the full list of winners and highly commended entries please see AMaGA website.

View AMaGA National Awards 2023 winners

Images of winning entries available upon request.

For all media enquiries please contact:
Name: Lana Epshteyn
Title: Communications Manager, AMaGA
Phone: 0407 321 338
Email: lana.epshteyn@amaga.org.au


See also: AMaGA National Awards 2023 winners announced

Council of Australasian Museum Directors c/o Lynley Crosswell, Museums Victoria, GPO Box 666, Melbourne VIC 3001, © CAMD 2023
Disclaimer: The content of this website is provided for information purposes only and is not intended as a substitute for professional advice. No claim is made as to the accuracy or authenticity of the content of the website. The Council of Australasian Museum Directors does not accept any liability to any person for the information or advice (or the use of such information or advice) which is provided on this website. The information on our website is provided on the basis that all persons accessing the site undertake responsibility for assessing the relevance and accuracy of its content. No responsibility is taken for any information or services which may appear on any linked web sites. Hostgator.