Leading Museums, Museum Leaders

Digital Access to Collections

Alex Marsden, National Director MA, Sue McKerracher, CEO, ALIA, John Petersen and Rebecca Jones.

Museums Australia National Office, Digital Access project on track to unlock collections nationwide, 22 July 2016

gLAMPEAKThe GLAM Peak Bodies have appointed Rebecca Jones and John Petersen as the consultants to deliver the national Digital Access to Collections project. Funded by the Commonwealth Government’s Catalyst program, this project will set out the nation’s ambition for open access to a rich diversity of Australian content by national and international audiences.

Fieldwork and a draft framework will be completed by the end of 2016.

Frank Howarth, co-Chair of the GLAM Peak Bodies, said, “Fundamental to this project are visits to regional galleries, libraries, archives, museums and historical societies to see first hand what is working and what challenges and opportunities these institutions face in opening their collections to the world.”

A GLAM peak website is being developed in order for interested parties to track progress. This will be online in August.

The GLAM Peak Bodies represent galleries, libraries, archives, museums, historical societies and other research collections.

  • Australian Academy of the Humanities
  • Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA)
  • The Australian Society of Archivists (ASA)
  • Council of Australasian Archives and Records Authorities (CAARA)
  • Council of Australasian Museum Directors (CAMD)
  • Council of Australian Art Museum Directors (CAAMD)
  • Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL)
  • Federation of Australian Historical Societies (FAHS)
  • International Council of Museums (ICOM)
  • Museums Australia (MA)
  • National Research Collections Australia (NRCA)
  • National and State Libraries Australasia (NSLA)
  • University Art Museums Australia (UAMA)

For more information:

Sue McKerracher 
0404 456749

Kate Irvine
Executive Officer, NSLA
0408 991525

Alex Marsden
National Director, MA
0478 881091

Council of Australasian Museum Directors, c/o Ms Daryl Karp, Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House PO Box 3934 Manuka, Australian Capital Territory 2603 Australia, © CAMD 2021
Disclaimer: The content of this website is provided for information purposes only and is not intended as a substitute for professional advice. No claim is made as to the accuracy or authenticity of the content of the website. The Council of Australasian Museum Directors does not accept any liability to any person for the information or advice (or the use of such information or advice) which is provided on this website. The information on our website is provided on the basis that all persons accessing the site undertake responsibility for assessing the relevance and accuracy of its content. No responsibility is taken for any information or services which may appear on any linked web sites. Hostgator.