Leading Museums, Museum Leaders

Maritime history prize

Janet Flew, Nominations are open for $5,000 maritime history prizes, Australian National Maritime Museum Blog, 19 February 2015


Winner of the 2015 Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Prize was John Ogden for his two-volume set Saltwater People.

Every two years, the museum, in association with the Australian Association for Maritime History (AAMH), jointly sponsors two maritime history prizes totalling $5,000.

Anyone – writers, publishers or readers – can nominate a work for these awards. Nominations close on 30 April 2015.

The 2015 Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Prize of $4,000 will be awarded for a book treating any aspect of maritime history relating to or affecting Australia, written or co-authored by an Australian citizen or permanent resident, and published between 1 January 2013 and 31 December 2014. The book should be published in Australia in print or as an e-book, although titles written by Australian authors but published overseas may be considered at the discretion of the judges. The prize is open to Australian authors or co-authors of a book-length monograph or compilation of their own works. Edited collections of essays by multiple contributors are not eligible.

The Australian Community Maritime History Prize of $1000 will be awarded to a regional or local museum or historical society for a publication (book, booklet, educational resource kit, CD, DVD or other media) relating to an aspect of maritime history of that region or community, and published between 1 January 2013 and 31 December 2014.

Both prizes reflect the wish of the two sponsoring organisations to promote a broad view of maritime history that demonstrates how the sea and maritime influences have been more central to the shaping of Australia, its people and its culture than has commonly been believed.

Read more

Council of Australasian Museum Directors, c/o Ms Daryl Karp, Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House PO Box 3934 Manuka, Australian Capital Territory 2603 Australia, © CAMD 2021
Disclaimer: The content of this website is provided for information purposes only and is not intended as a substitute for professional advice. No claim is made as to the accuracy or authenticity of the content of the website. The Council of Australasian Museum Directors does not accept any liability to any person for the information or advice (or the use of such information or advice) which is provided on this website. The information on our website is provided on the basis that all persons accessing the site undertake responsibility for assessing the relevance and accuracy of its content. No responsibility is taken for any information or services which may appear on any linked web sites. Hostgator.