Close this search box.
MHNSW with SOH win 2024 NT Heritage Award

Revealed: winners of the 30th annual National Trust Heritage Awards, National Trust NSW, 17 May 2024

Winner of the Aboriginal Heritage award: Murrook Culture Centre, Williamtown, entered by Art of Multimedia and Worimi Local Aboriginal Land Council.

The best and brightest in Australian heritage conservation have been celebrated today at the National Trust (NSW) Heritage Awards, with 19 winners recognised across nine categories, four individual prizes, a special President’s Prize and the highly sought-after Judges’ Choice Award.

The National Trust (NSW) Heritage Awards is an annual celebration of outstanding practice, awarding excellence in conservation of Aboriginal, built, natural and cultural heritage.

The coveted Judges’ Choice Award went to the White Bay Power Station revival, described by judges as a once in a lifetime conservation project of exceptional historic, technical and social significance.

“There was a lot to celebrate at this year’s special 30th Heritage Awards” said Debbie Mills, Chief Executive Officer of the National Trust (NSW). “Congratulations to all entrants and to this year’s winners.”

Penny Sharpe, Minister for Heritage, commended the winners for their dedication to conserving and promoting heritage in NSW, saying “these projects are vital in ensuring our special places and stories are enjoyed for generations to come”.

Frank Howarth AM PSM, Chair of the NSW Heritage Council, was impressed by the diversity across categories which recognised remarkable smaller private projects and impressive large-scale works.

Patricia Laurie and Steven Meredith, Co-Chairs of the NSW Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee highlighted the authenticity of several winning projects, and their importance in increasing awareness of Aboriginal Heritage.

“From the city to the regions, communities right across the state will benefit immensely from the efforts of this year’s award winners” said Heritage NSW’s Executive Director, Sam Kidman.

Esteemed speakers included keynote speaker Sharon Veale, Partner & CEO of GML Heritage; Donna Davis MP, State Member for Parramatta; and Awards Jury Chair Matthew Devine.

Judges who joined Matthew on the panel included: Ann Toy (Interpretation), Barrina South (Aboriginal heritage), Dr Caitlin Allen (Archaeology), David Burdon (Architecture), Kathryn Pitkin AM (Education), Dr Libby Gallagher (Landscape) and Peter John Cantrill (Architecture).

The National Trust (NSW) Heritage Awards are a signature event of the Australian Heritage Festival, coordinated annually by the National Trust. The NSW Government through Heritage NSW is principal sponsor of the Australian Heritage Festival and the National Trust Heritage Awards.

White Bay Power Station, entered by Placemaking NSW, Design 5 – Architects, CBRE and FDC, received this year’s Judges’ Choice Award. Image: Toby Peet.

The 2024 winners are:

Aboriginal Heritage

  • Murrook Culture Centre, Williamtown – entered by Art of Multimedia and Worimi Local Aboriginal Land Council



  • Marrinawi Cove Swimming campaign, Barangaroo – entered by Millers Point Community Resident Action Group


Architecture – proudly sponsored by Extent Heritage

  • 119 Redfern Street, Redfern – entered by Aileen Sage Architects


Built Conservation – proudly sponsored by Heritage 21

  • The Glass House: Bill and Ruth Lucas, Castlecrag – entered by Cracknell & Lonergan Architects
  • The White Bay Power Station, Rozelle – entered by Placemaking NSW, Design 5 – Architects, CBRE and FDC


Interiors and Objects

  • NSW Parliament Chambers Restoration Project, Sydney – entered by Department of Parliamentary Services
  • Restoration of D class Tramcar 117 of 1899, Loftus – entered by Sydney Tramway Museum



  • West Head Lookout, Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park – entered by OCULUS and Bruce Mackenzie with NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service


Education and Interpretation

  • Construction Heritage and the Missing Drawings of the Sydney Opera House – entered by The University of Sydney, University of NSW, EPFL (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne)
  • Yirran muru – Aboriginal Interpretive Playspace – entered by Shellharbour City Council


Events, Exhibitions and Tours

  • ICOMOS General Assembly 2023, Sydney – entered by Australia ICOMOS
  • The People’s House Sydney Opera House at 50, Sydney – entered by Museums of History NSW in collaboration with the Sydney Opera House


Resources and Publications

  • Killing For Country: A Family Story – entered by David Marr
Left: The NSW Parliament Chambers Restoration Project, entered by Department of Parliamentary Services, won the Interiors and Objects award. Right: The Architecture award (sponsored by Extent Heritage) went to 119 Redfern Street, entered by Aileen Sage Architects.


Judges’ Choice

  • The White Bay Power Station, Rozelle – entered by Placemaking NSW, Design 5 – Architects, CBRE and FDC


President’s Prize

  • Bathurst Heritage Trades Trail – entered by Bathurst Regional Council


NEW! Young Achiever Award – proudly sponsored by GML Heritage

  • Sophie Canaris (Architect)


Heritage Skills Award

  • Lee Adamou (Heritage Roofer)


Lifetime Achievement Award – proudly sponsored by Museums of History NSW

  • Chris Betteridge (Cultural Landscape & Heritage Specialist) – posthumously awarded


Cathy Donnelly Memorial Award

  • Dr Jillian Comber (Archaeologist/Heritage Consultant)
The winner of the Advocacy award: The Marrinawi Cove Swimming campaign, Barangaroo, entered by Millers Point Community Resident Action Group.

Media contacts:

Susan Darwiche, Double Shot PR – Director

Phone: 0414 706 704
Email:[email protected]


Leah Tasker, Director, Marketing and Communications

National Trust of Australia (NSW)
Phone: 0435 266 924
Email: [email protected]