Leading Museums, Museum Leaders

NGA’s 2019 Indigenous Arts Leadership

Participants in the 2019 Indigenous Arts Leadership and Fellowship program.

Art Gallery draws on Indigenous artists, APS News, 24 October 2019

The National Gallery of Australia (NGA) in Canberra has announced the 10 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts professionals chosen to join its 2019 Indigenous Arts Leadership and Fellowship program.

This year the program celebrates a decade of providing professional development for Indigenous art workers.

This year’s 10 participants are: Shaun Angeles (Northern Territory ); Angelina Boona (Western Australia); Simon Carmichael (Queensland); Troy Casey (Queensland); Dave Gough (Tasmania); Aidan Hartshorn (ACT); Juanita Kelly-Mundine (NSW); Georgia MacGuire (Victoria); Stacie Piper (Victoria) and Michelle Woody (Northern Territory).

Director of the NGA, Nick Mitzevich, said the 2019 intake would take the number of alumni from the Leadership and Fellowship programs to more than 100 people.

“This is a remarkable achievement,” Mr Mitzevich said.

“These curators, managers and other arts professionals are instrumental to the telling of important Australian stories about our unique Indigenous culture that has been connected to the creation of art for 75,000 years.

“We are grateful to have the support and commitment of Wesfarmers Arts for this program, building Indigenous leadership in the arts across Australia.”

Mr Mitzevich said the NGA was thrilled to expand its commitment to Indigenous leadership with the appointment of Bruce Johnson McLean as its first Assistant Director, Indigenous Engagement.

“Mr McLean is a member of the Wierdi people of the Birri Gubba nation of Wribpid (Central Queensland) and is currently a Curator with the Queensland Art Gallery / Gallery of Modern Art, where he has been responsible for driving change in Indigenous policy and engagement,” Mr Mitzevich said.

“The creation of the new role was made possible due to a bequest by Barbara Jean Humphreys,” Mr Mitzevich said.


Council of Australasian Museum Directors c/o Mr Brian Oldman, South Australian Museum PO Box 234 Adelaide, South Australia 5001 Australia, © CAMD 2022
Disclaimer: The content of this website is provided for information purposes only and is not intended as a substitute for professional advice. No claim is made as to the accuracy or authenticity of the content of the website. The Council of Australasian Museum Directors does not accept any liability to any person for the information or advice (or the use of such information or advice) which is provided on this website. The information on our website is provided on the basis that all persons accessing the site undertake responsibility for assessing the relevance and accuracy of its content. No responsibility is taken for any information or services which may appear on any linked web sites. Hostgator.