PM’s Science Prizes

Each year the Prime Minister rewards and celebrates the nation’s best scientists and science teachers through the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science.

Nominations for the 2013 prizes have now opened.

In order to simplify and speed up the nomination process it has been broken down into two parts.

For the first step of nomination, all that is needed is:

  • an achievement summary of no more than 800 words
  • a 2 page CV and
  • proof of Australian citizenship or permanent residency

The prize committee have also made a few changes to the eligibility criteria this year:

  • eligibility to the Malcolm McIntosh and Science Minister’s Prizes is extended to outstanding research outcome within ten years’ full time equivalent, including research conducted as part of studies for a Master’s degree or PhD
  • past recipients of the Malcolm McIntosh and Science Minister’s Prizes are eligible to be nominated and considered for the major prize
  • the $50,000 cash component of the Science Teaching Prizes will be shared equally between the prize recipient and the school in which the prize recipient was teaching at the time of nomination.

The five prizes up for grabs are:

  • The $300,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science awarded for an outstanding specific achievement or series of related achievements in any area of science advancing human welfare or benefitting society
  • The $50,000 Science Minister’s Prize for Life Scientists and the Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientists, designed to recognise achievements of scientists at an early-mid stage of their research careers that advances, or has the potential to advance, human welfare or benefits society and;
  • The $50,000 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary and Secondary Schools, awarded in recognition of contributions by science teachers in their commitment and dedication to effective and creative science teaching.

Read more about the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science online.