Leading Museums, Museum Leaders

Te Papa hosts MA19 – biculturalism

Press Release: Biculturalism, Repatriation and Curating Indigenous Art, Museums Aotearoa, 17 May 2019

Biculturalism, Repatriation and Curating Indigenous Art the hot topics at Museums Aotearoa 2019 Conference

Museums Aotearoa is excited to welcome two renowned curators of Indigenous art to the Museums Aotearoa 2019 Conference (MA19) taking place in Wellington 23 -24 May 2019.

Nici Cumpston, artist, writer and Curator of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art at AGSA.

Jaimie Isaac, curator of Indigenous & Contemporary Art, Winnipeg Art Gallery, Canada.

Keynote speakers at this years’ event will be Jaimie Isaac, curator of Indigenous & Contemporary Art at the Winnipeg Art Gallery, Canada, and Nici Cumpston, an artist, curator, writer and educator who works as Curator of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art at Art Gallery of South Australia. They will present a session on Curating from Indigenous Frameworks.

‘It is a real thrill for us to be able to host both Nici and Jaimie at this years’ Museums Aotearoa conference when we have so much to talk about in New Zealand in terms of the bicultural museum and working within Indigenous frameworks within the GLAM Sector’, said Courtney Johnston, Chair of Museums Aotearoa.

‘Alongside Nici and Jaimie we have curated an exciting and inspiring programme with panelists and presenters made up of specialists from the Museum and Gallery sector all across New Zealand, ‘ said Johnston.

The very first session of the conference will be attended by Associate Minister for Culture and Heritage, Hon Carmel Sepuloni who will speak at a session focusing on repatriation on the morning of Thursday 23 May. And the Hon Grant Roberston will host a conference dinner at Parliament on the evening of Thursday 23 May.

The conference, being hosted by the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, officially starts on the evening of Wednesday 22 May with a pōwhiri and the ServiceIQ NZ Museum Awards which will see winners being announced across 10 categories including Exhibition Excellence Awards for Art, Science & Technology and Taonga Māori and the Project Excellence Award.

Council of Australasian Museum Directors c/o Mr Brian Oldman, South Australian Museum PO Box 234 Adelaide, South Australia 5001 Australia, © CAMD 2022
Disclaimer: The content of this website is provided for information purposes only and is not intended as a substitute for professional advice. No claim is made as to the accuracy or authenticity of the content of the website. The Council of Australasian Museum Directors does not accept any liability to any person for the information or advice (or the use of such information or advice) which is provided on this website. The information on our website is provided on the basis that all persons accessing the site undertake responsibility for assessing the relevance and accuracy of its content. No responsibility is taken for any information or services which may appear on any linked web sites. Hostgator.